Skip to main content

Annual energy moot court competition to tackle a jobs creation act

UPDATE 3/12/21: Congratulations to the University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law (Natalie Beal and Stephanie Hanawalt, coached by Nate Mitchell) for winning the 11th annual National Energy and Sustainability Moot Court Competition. The runner-up was St. John’s University School of Law (Molly Sheehan and Stephanie Lamerce, coached by Ashley Williams and Danielle Ullo). This was the first all-woman final in the competition's history.

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. — Law students from across the country are participating virtually in the 11th annual National Energy and Sustainability Moot Court Competition, hosted March 10-13 by the West Virginia University College of Law

A record 36 teams from 26 law schools are arguing in this year’s competition, which is organized by the  Center for Energy and Sustainable Development at WVU Law.

The problem involves the constitutionality of a state-enacted Clean Air Jobs Act that promotes the reduction of carbon emissions, stimulates development of renewable energy, establishes a net metering program, and calls for the closure of coal-fired power plants.  In question is the Act's possible violation of the U.S. Constitution's prohibition against takings, as well as issues about federal/state jurisdiction over electricity markets and whether state policies can discriminate against out-of-state solar projects.

Due to the pandemic, this year’s moot court competition is being held entirely online. The public is invited to watch the webcast of the final round on WVU Law’s YouTube channel at 2:30 p.m. on March 13.

The law schools in the 2021 National Energy and Sustainability Moot Court Competition are:

  • American University
  • Brigham Young University
  • Chicago-Kent
  • College of William & Mary
  • DePaul University
  • Florida State University
  • George Washington University
  • Indiana University Bloomington
  • Lewis & Clark
  • Louisiana State University
  • Seton Hall University
  • South Texas-Houston
  • St. John’s University
  • Texas Tech
  • The Ohio State University
  • University of Florida
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Nevada Las Vegas
  • University of North Carolina
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Toledo
  • University of Utah
  • University of Virginia
  • Vermont
  • Washburn University
  • Wayne State University

As the host law school, WVU Law does not compete.

Attorney Raymond Hinerman of Weirton, West Virginia, is the title sponsor of the National Energy and Sustainability Moot Court Competition. The competition also receives support from the law firm of Bailey, Javins & Carter.

The first of its kind in the country, the National Energy and Sustainability Moot Court Competition was established in 2011. It is a program of the  Moot Court Board, a WVU Law student organization.




WVU LAW Facebook WVU LAW Twitter WVU LAW Instagram WVU LAW LinkedIn WVU LAW Youtube Channel