Skip to main content

WVU Law awards 110 degrees on May 13

WVU President Gee at College of Law Commencement

MORGANTOWN, WEST VIRGINIA—The West Virginia University College of Law awarded degrees to 110 graduates on May 13 in a ceremony at the WVU Creative Arts Center.

The Class of 2016 includes the nation’s first LL.M (Master of Laws) graduates in Forensic Science.

Joshua Weishart, who was selected Professor of the Year by the Class of 2016, delivered the commencement address.

“You have proven that you have what it takes not only to be attorneys at law, but, more importantly, persons with empathy, passion, and different conceptions of what justice entails,” he told the graduates.

The faculty awarded the  College’s Justitia Officium to civil rights attorney Allan Karlin and to former colleague and professor emeritus Robert Lathrop. The Justitia Officium recognizes outstanding contributions and service to the legal profession and it is the highest honor bestowed by the WVU College of Law.

Also at the College’s Commencement, West Virginia University President E. Gordon Gee conferred an honorary degree on H. Rodgin Cohen, Senior Chairman of the law firm Sullivan & Cromwell LLP.


WVU LAW Facebook WVU LAW Twitter WVU LAW Instagram WVU LAW LinkedIn WVU LAW Youtube Channel