Skip to main content

Professor Cardi named WVU Foundation Outstanding Teacher

WVU Law Professor Vince Cardi

MORGANTOWN, W.Va.—Three exceptional West Virginia University faculty members have been honored with the University’s 2020  Foundation Award for Outstanding Teaching. This year’s honorees are: 

  • Vincent Paul Cardi, Bowles Rice Professor of Law, College of Law.  

  • Dawn Hunter, Associate Professor of Pathology, Anatomy and Laboratory Medicine, School of Medicine.

  • Scott A. Myers, Professor and Peggy Rardin McConnell Endowed Teaching Chair of Communication Studies, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences.

Established in 1985 by the  WVU Foundation, the Outstanding Teaching Award honors faculty who are particularly effective and inspiring teachers, as well as faculty who have established patterns of exceptional innovation in their teaching methods, course and curriculum design and instructional tools. 

“We are so grateful to have the support of the WVU Foundation and the generosity of our donors who provide these awards to our exceptional faculty,” said  Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs  Maryanne Reed. “But moreover, WVU is fortunate to have such high-caliber faculty inspiring our students and future generations. We salute this year’s recipients who are truly exceptional in the classroom and in their fields of study.” 

Cardi is being recognized for his student-centered textbook writing and his five decades of student dedication, expertise and teaching excellence. More specifically, Cardi is being honored for his long history of inspiring and encouraging WVU College of Law students toward mastery through “doing” aspects of the law profession as the foundation for their learning. Cardi is known for his clarity, enthusiasm and humor in ensuring that law students are practice ready upon graduation.  

Hunter is an outstanding educator within the WVU Health Sciences Center who is being recognized for her dedication to students and contributions to the HSC and School of Medicine educational mission. She is honored for her significant student contact hours and impressive record of internal and external awards for her teaching innovations such as facilitating an interactive learning process, even in online anatomy instruction. Hunter is known for her leadership skills, knowledge base, and success in equipping students with professional expertise, life skills and a general appreciation for learning. 

Myers is a master teacher with a long-standing broad portfolio of major teaching contributions including creating innovative undergraduate and graduate curriculum. He is honored for revitalizing and invigorating Master of Arts programs in Communications Studies, developing and initiating a PhD program for his department. Myers also is known for publishing a textbook and several articles on the scholarship of teaching and learning, as well as a number of national awards from disciplinary associations. 

Faculty members must be nominated by their College leadership in order to be eligible for the Foundation Award for Outstanding Teaching. Each of the honorees will receive $5,000 in professional development monies from the WVU Foundation. 

All of the 2020 award recipients will be recognized by  Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs  Maryanne Reed and  President Gordon Gee during a faculty and staff awards dinner at Blaney House, which has been postponed until Fall 2020 due to University closure and COVID-19 pandemic.


kb/04/17/2020 (Office of the Provost)

WVU LAW Facebook WVU LAW Twitter WVU LAW Instagram WVU LAW LinkedIn WVU LAW Youtube Channel