Skip to main content

Student Bar Association

The Student Bar Association (SBA) serves as the student government at the College of Law. Its purpose is to further cooperation and maximize student input into the academic and administrative processes as well as to administer the honor system. The SBA also responds to the varying needs for professional, social, and recreational events. SBA is administered by elected representatives from each class along with officers elected by the entire student body. In addition, representatives from all law school organizations serve on the Association.

Students serve with faculty members on several committees at the College of Law. Among these committees are Academic Planning, Academic Standards, Admissions, Library, and Appointments. The SBA has reserved committee assignments for entering first-year students. Interested students should contact their Student Bar Association representative concerning committee assignments in early fall.

The SBA is nationally affiliated with the American Law Student Association, the student division of the American Bar Association.


President:  Austin Longnecker 

Vice President: Kevin Stryker   

Secretary: Ashley Faulkner

Treasurer: Austin Gutierrez

Fundraising Committee Chair: Katie Colclough

Social Committee Chair: Carrington Riggs

Community Service Chair: Matt Way

Advisor: Tina Jernigan

WVU LAW Facebook WVU LAW Twitter WVU LAW Instagram WVU LAW LinkedIn WVU LAW Youtube Channel