Skip to main content

West Virginia Access to Justice Commission

Established in 2009 by the West Virginia Supreme Court to address and resolve legal barriers faced by West Virginians in order to increase equality in the justice system.

    Mission Statement

    The West Virginia Access to Justice Commission seeks to identify, study, and promote measures that will increase the ability of the poor and others facing substantial financial, educational and/or geographic hurdles to gain access to quality legal services. To this end, the WVU College of Law will employ its resources to both support and complement the work currently being done by established legal services. 


    The Commission is governed by the Dean of the WVU College of Law with the advice of up to 12 commissioners. The Director, appointed by the Dean, administrates the Commission.

    Commission Members

    Gregory W. Bowman
    Dean, WVU College of Law

    Robert M. Bastress
    John W. Fisher II Professor of Law

    Charles R. DiSalvo
    Woodrow A. Potesta Professor of Law

    Ann L. Haight
    Director, Consumer Protection and Anti-Trust Division
    Office of the Attorney General

    Gary L. Johnson
    Administration Director, Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia

    Majorie A. McDiarmid
    Steptoe & Johnson Profess or Law and Technology
    Director, Litigation and Advocacy Law Clinic

    Caroline Osborne
    Director, George R. Farmer, Jr. Law Library
    WVU College of Law

    Jennifer Powell
    Director, Center for Law and Public Service

    Duane Ruggier II
    Pullin, Fowler & Flanagan PLLC

    William R. Wooton
    The Wooten Law Firm

    Adrienne Worthy
    Executive Director, Legal Aid of West Virginia

      WVU LAW Facebook WVU LAW Twitter WVU LAW Instagram WVU LAW LinkedIn WVU LAW Youtube Channel